Deleted contacts go into the trash of the contacts area and can be restored from there.

The contacts trash with the deleted contacts and the

How to restore a contact

Open the Contacts area and click Trash on the right. All deleted contacts are shown. Select the contact you want and click Restore at the top – it reappears in the contact list. With Delete you remove it permanently.